Account
Support Us!
Contact Us
Online Resources
Business & Career I Genealogy & History I Law & Government I Newspapers & Magazines I DIY & Special Interest I eBooks & Streaming
Student Resources:
Elementary I Middle I High School & Adult Learners
Test Prep I Learn a New Language or Skill
Use these resources to search for magazine & newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries or business and job information; find a recommendation for a good novel; and much more. Your library card is required to search most of the databases.
Featured Databases
Ancestry.com
This database is only available through the library’s public computers or by connecting to the library’s WiFi. Remote access to this database was discontinued by Ancestry on 12/31/2021.
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps, Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War Collection.
BookFlix
Introducing BookFlix, the new interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and learning – online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding.
Brainfuse – Help Now!
Live tutors are available seven days a week between the hours of 2:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m., EST. HelpNow! is a comprehensive suite of tutoring services designed for a range of academic needs; whether it’s tackling a tough homework problem, learning an academic skill, or writing a term paper. Students may take practice tests, submit essays for review, and take advantage of other self-study features 24 hours a day. Adults can also receive live online help from our trained adult education specialists in areas such as US Citizenship testing, resume and cover letter writing assistance and core subject education.
Mango Languages
Casual, cultural, and conversational learning. Speak like a local in 70+ languages with practical, conversation-based language lessons for web, iOS, and Android. Learn Spanish, French, German, and more — download the free Mango app to get started.
NewsBank
Includes Cumberland-Times News. Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
World Book Online
Continually updated, includes all of the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more. In addition, there are more than 9,500 pictures and maps, 115 videos and animations, 9,300 sounds, more than 100 simulated historic Web sites.